ビル・エヴァンズの流れを受け継ぎつつ、レディオヘッドやニック・ドレイクの楽曲をアレンジするという独自のジャズを展開するブラッド・メルドー。彼が取り組んでいる「アート・オブ・トリオ」シリーズの第一弾となる本作では、ビートルズの「ブラックバード」をジャズにアレンジしています。繊細な指使いで優しい音の空間を醸し出すメルドー、1997年ですので10年以上前はテクニックに重きを置いた演奏スタイルですね。 メルドー・トリオは今年一月に「Jazz for Obama」というオバマ大統領をジャズ・ミュージシャンがサポートしようという特別イベントに、ハンク・ジョーンズ、ダイアン・リーヴス、ロイ・ハーグローブと共に出演しています。

ブラッド・メルドー 公式サイト

This time, I go for CD, and pick up Brad Mehldau’s Art of Trio Vol. 1. This was recorded back in 1997, but sounds still amazing to me. To me, his trio is very progressive, because of how Mehldau interprets music and transcends it to the group. On this recording, he sounds very technical-oriented and reserved, compared to his more recent recordings (of course! this was more than 10 years ago!), but nevertheless he digs rock music, he surely is a brilliant Jazz pianist of our time.  People call him the successor of Bill Evans, but I wonder why he is not compared with Thelonius Monk for his approach to music.

Brad Mehldau – Piano, Jorge Rossy- Drums, Larry Hrenadier – Bass


1. Blame It on My Youth

2. I Don’t Know what Time It Was

3. Ron’s Place

4. Blackbird

5. Lament for Linus

6. Mignon’s Song

7. I Fall in Love Too Easily

8. Lucid

9. Nobody Else But Me


Jay Kogami

執筆者:ジェイ・コウガミ(All Digital Music編集長、デジタル音楽ジャーナリスト)


  • プロフィール
  • お問い合わせ